Skip to content
February 10, 2013 / A

A quick note on उपदेश

Here’s a small post on a moment of insight that I want to remember. When I first started reading Panini, few of the terms I saw made sense:

शानच्
???

The Ashtadhyayi calls such terms उपदेश, because they instruct (उपदिशति) the grammatical student and guide his quest to form Sanskrit words. As I began to read more of the grammar, I started to interpret these terms in my head:

शानच्
The term आन, marked with श् and च्
शानन्
The term आन, marked with श् and न्

But eventually I came across a term I never expected would appear:

चानश्
The term आन, marked with श् and च् ???

But if I interpreted चानश् this way, what could I do with शानच्? My answer was a bit more subtle:

शानच्
The term आन, marked with श् and च्, that is known by the name शानच्.
चानश्
The term आन, marked with श् and च्, that is known by the name चानश्.

There are other pairs like this, such as अण् and ण. I hope I don’t see too many more.

Leave a Reply

