Skip to content
February 17, 2013 / A

Start 6.1

Books 1 and 2 set the stage for the rest of the grammar. Books 3 through 5 describe the various Sanskrit affixes. And books 6 through 8 combine those affixes into actual Sanskrit words. The material in books 4 and 5 is undoubtedly interesting, but right now I don’t care to spend more time with affixes and their definitions; I want to learn how these affixes combine. And books 1 and 3 have given me enough insight into the system to start doing so.

So for now, it’s off to book 6, which describes a variety of phonological mechanisms (such as reduplication and vowel sandhi). After book 6, I’ll determine whether to continue to book 7 or return to book 4. My one concern is that chapter 6.2 is entirely about Sanskrit accent, which has disappeared in modern Sanskrit and is totally missing from Classical Sanskrit texts. For the sake of completeness this is a chapter I should know; but the process seems like it will be pretty dull.

That aside, this should be exciting! The tail end of the Ashtadhyayi finally gives clarity to how its different pieces combine.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: