Skip to content
March 18, 2013 / A

Stall

“I hope to finish 6.3 within the week.” Two weeks later, here I am; what first seemed like a reasonable hope came to nothing. Part of this is that life intrudes, as it tends to do. But part of the problem, too, was that I’ve been routinely failing the same set of cards for the past few weeks, which has made each review process cumbersomely long. These cards are universally from 3.3, 6.1, and 6.3 — which is to say, from the last three chapters I’ve studied. The main issue is that although I can remember individual rules very well, I’m finding it increasingly difficult to string them together.

What’s going on here? Why haven’t I had problems like this in the past? A few theories:

  • I’m finally reaching the upper limit of how many rules I can learn.
  • I failed to establish an overall structure for the chapter, which makes it difficult to organize rules.
  • I don’t have the mental ability to learn rules at my current pace.
  • I’m not giving these rules the attention they deserve.

Maybe it’s a combination of all of these factors. But I’m most drawn to the last point. When I review some of these rules, I barely remember what they mean. Perhaps I should spend much more time with Sharma’s examples.

Leave a Reply

