Skip to content
March 30, 2013 / A

Update 6.3

It has been a year since I started this blog. That’s a difficult fact to accept. Had I remained content with studying 10 rules per day, as opposed to the erratic spikes and lulls that have characterized my efforts so far, I would be nearly done with the text. Instead, I’ve made some progress on 6.3, but much of the text remains.

I can take some comfort in the fact that although I’ve memorized only a few more rules, the Ashtadhyayi as a system is now almost perfectly clear. I can derive a multitude of Sanskrit words and can understand the implicit principles that govern much of the text. Truly the Ashtadhyayi is a marvel and Panini a true genius. I can understand why some would spend lifetimes studying Sanskrit grammar (although I hope to spend a bit less than that).

Perhaps I will detail some of the details of the text at a later date. But for now, I remain more enthralled with it than ever. Our relationship has been a rough and bumpy one, but my abiding love and respect for the Ashtadhyayi continue to deepen.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. polyglossic / Apr 10 2013 11:19 am

    Don’t be too hard on yourself, A. You are taking on a challenge that sadly very, very few people in our modern age would attempt, or even be interested in. You should be proud of the progress you have made, and proud of yourself for sticking with it this long!
    -Allison

Leave a Reply

